Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Message From the Honourable Jim Flaherty,

Archived - Messages

This Web page has been archived on the Web.

I am pleased to welcome G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors to Iqaluit on February 5-6. The meeting will mark the first in a series of important global gatherings that Canada will host in 2010, including the G8 and G20 Leaders’ summits in June.

Jim Flaherty And Leona Aglukkaq
Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance and Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health.

The Iqaluit encounter will feature an agenda that allows for frank and constructive dialogue—a focus not on paper and communiqués, but on people. It will provide G7 members with a unique opportunity to discuss what our countries can do to provide a collective boost to what have become truly global efforts to put this crisis behind us and ensure a sustained recovery.

The crisis first began in G7 nations and G7 countries have a collective responsibility to see our recovery efforts through. The meeting’s discussions will focus on reviewing the state of the global economy as well as a number of key issues that have been at the heart of international meetings throughout the global economic crisis, such as following through on financial sector reforms.

In 2010, Canada offers the world an unparalleled opportunity to turn the page on a global crisis and set the stage for enduring prosperity. I look forward to meeting with my colleagues this February in Canada’s North, for the start of what will no doubt be a truly historic year.

Message From the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq,

I am very pleased that the G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meeting will be taking place in Iqaluit, the capital of Nunavut—Canada’s newest territory.

Nunavummiut are looking forward to hosting this important meeting. G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors will get the chance to experience first-hand our community spirit, our culture and the overall beauty of winter in Nunavut.

Iqaluit, situated in the hills, overlooks Frobisher Bay. The city is the gateway to the best kept secret of the Arctic. It combines the rich traditions of the past and the conveniences of modern technology. Not only is Iqaluit the business and government centre, it is the largest community in Nunavut. There is no shortage of Inuit artists. You’ll see them in hotel lobbies and in some restaurants. You can also get a glimpse of our expansive valley. You may see some people travelling by dog team on the bay.

I’m joined by my fellow Nunavummiut in inviting you to discover the dynamics of Canada’s North and our unique culture during the G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meeting on February 5th and 6th.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Message de l’honorable Jim Flaherty

Archivée - Messages

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Je suis heureux d’accueillir les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales du G7 à Iqaluit, les 5 et 6 février prochains. Cette réunion constituera la première d’une série de rencontres mondiales importantes qui se tiendront au Canada en 2010, dont les Sommets des dirigeants du G8 et du G20 en juin.

Jim Flaherty And Leona Aglukkaq
Jim Flaherty, Ministre des Finances et Leona Aglukkaq, Ministre de la santé

L’ordre du jour de la rencontre à Iqaluit permet un dialogue franc et constructif qui portera non pas sur les documents et les communiqués, mais sur les gens. Cette rencontre offrira aux représentants des pays membres du G7 l’occasion idéale de discuter des mesures que nos pays peuvent prendre pour donner un coup de pouce collectif aux efforts véritablement mondiaux qui ont été déployés pour mettre fin à cette crise et pour assurer une reprise soutenue.

La crise a commencé dans les pays du G7, et il leur incombe collectivement de mener à terme tous leurs efforts de relance. À cette réunion, les discussions seront axées sur l’état de l’économie mondiale et sur plusieurs autres dossiers ayant occupé l’avant-scène aux réunions internationales qui se sont déroulées tout au long de la crise économique mondiale, notamment la réalisation des réformes du secteur financier.

En 2010, le Canada offre au monde une occasion inégalée de tourner la page sur la crise mondiale et de préparer le terrain en vue d’une prospérité de longue durée. J’ai bien hâte de rencontrer mes collègues en février dans le Grand Nord canadien, afin de donner le coup d’envoi à ce qui sera sans aucun doute une année historique.

Message de l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq

Je suis très heureuse que cette réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G7 se déroule à Iqaluit, capitale du Nunavut – le plus jeune territoire du Canada.

Les Nunavummiut apprécient l’occasion d’accueillir cette importante réunion. Pendant leur séjour, les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales du G7 pourront s’imprégner de notre esprit communautaire, de notre culture et de la beauté de l’hiver au Nunavut.

La ville d’Iqaluit, sise dans les montagnes, surplombe la baie Frobisher. Elle s’ouvre sur le secret le mieux gardé de l’Arctique, conjuguant à la fois les riches traditions du passé et les commodités des technologies actuelles. Iqaluit est non seulement le centre des affaires et le siège du gouvernement du Nunavut, mais aussi la plus importante collectivité du territoire. Les artistes inuits y sont nombreux et vous pourrez en croiser dans les halls d’hôtel et dans certains restaurants. Prenez aussi le temps d’admirer les étendues de la vallée : peut-être aurez-vous la chance d’apercevoir des habitants traversant la baie en traîneau à chiens.

Au nom de mes concitoyens nunavummiut, je vous invite à découvrir le dynamisme du Nord canadien et la richesse de notre culture exceptionnelle au cours de la réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G7, les 5 et 6 février.